Skip to content


<< Return

Louisiana Nursing Home Association Honors Long-Term Care Professionals Statewide - Monday, October 16, 2023
(Baton Rouge – October 16, 2023) The Louisiana Nursing Home Association (LNHA) is pleased to honor several exceptional individuals who excel in providing person-centered care in a loving, nurturing manner to the residents they serve. Each year at the LNHA Convention and Trade Show in New Orleans, the LNHA Awards Luncheon recognizes and honors the selfless individuals who set the standard for quality long-term care in our state. These outstanding staff and volunteers make a difference in the lives of nursing facility residents while striving to improve their quality of life on a daily basis.
“The recipients of this year’s awards were selected because of their unwavering commitment to delivering high-quality person-centered care while treating each resident like family,” said Mark Berger, executive director of LNHA. “Their dedication to enhancing each resident’s quality of life in a compassionate manner is inspiring.”
“Our staff and volunteers are the backbone of our profession, providing direct care and support to the residents they are privileged to serve,” said Teddy Price, board president of LNHA. “We celebrate our award recipients’ commitment and steadfast dedication to constantly improving quality care while meeting the ever-changing needs of our residents and their loved ones.”
The Louisiana Nursing Home Association is proud to announce the 2023 LNHA Award recipients:
  • Administrator of the Year: Jennifer Peters, Garden Park Nursing and Rehabilitation Center in Shreveport
  • Director of Nursing of the Year: Mary Arabie, Kaplan Healthcare Center in Kaplan
  • Two Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) of the Year:
    • Katherine Johnson, Landmark of Acadiana in St. Martinville
    • Patricia Adams, Vivian Healthcare Center in Vivian
  • Medical Director of the Year: Dr. Hong Liu, The Summit in Alexandria
  • Social Service Director of the Year: Jennifer Deshields, Bayou Chateau Nursing Center in Simmesport
  • Resident Activity Director of the Year: John Marshall, Greenbriar Community Care Center in Slidell
  • Food Service Supervisor of the Year:  Barbara Lawrence, River Oaks Nursing & Rehabilitation Center in Baker
  • Volunteer of the Year: Jim Lenox, Garden Park Nursing and Rehabilitation Center in Shreveport
  • CNA of the Year by Region:
    • Region 1: Nathanial Ward, Thibodaux Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center in Thibodaux
    • Region 2: JoAnn Daniels, Harvest Manor Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center in Denham Springs
    • Region 4: Peggy Wilson, Rayville Nursing and Rehabilitation Center in Rayville
    • Region 5: Shirley Maple, Vivian Healthcare Center in Vivian
    • Region 6: Bernadette Francis, Landmark of Lake Charles in Lake Charles
    • Region 7: Pearl Jones, Naomi Heights Nursing & Rehabilitation Center in Alexandria
  • Pioneer Award: David Guillot
    The Pioneer Award is awarded to a hardworking, passionate individual with a pioneering spirit who paved the way for others in the long-term care profession.
Click here to download photos of the event and click here to download the press release as a PDF.
Back To Top